OUR NETWORK: CompTIA TechLore DijitCommunity TiVoCommunity MyOpenRouter About UsAdvertiseContact Us
The Largest Online Community
for Software CEOs and Executives.

Learn about scoring Forum's Raw Score: 41492.2
June 13, 2004 11:05 AM

Categories: R&D and Quality

Rating (0 votes)
Rate This!

Member Avatar

Entrepreneur

I'm considering outsourcing part of our programming. Fairly trivial programming. Our programs don't really require a lot of cutting edge coding.

I see our options as:
1. Local programmer (may be unlikely b/c we're using Delphi and it's a relatively small, although hi tech, town.

2. Outsourced US programmer. So far rates seem a bit high ($75/hr, etc.). At that rate, I'm happy to do the programming myself. (I'm a programmer, although new to Delphi).

3. Outsourced Overseas programmer.
Concern here are english skills.

What sorts of "gotchas" should I look out for?

MY concerns are:

1. Proper unit testing.
Programmer properly tests thier code.

2. Does programmer look out "ahead" and see potential problems?
If so, do they present you with the problems or go a step further and present you with possible SOLUTIONS to those problems?

3. Milestones with solid deliverables.
This mitigates the impact of a schedule slipping indefinitely. Also, makes it easier to change to another developer if developer doesn't work out, switches to another project, gets another job, etc.

Discussion:    Add a Comment | Comments 1-3 of 3 | Latest Comment

June 14, 2004 10:04 AM

I moved this thread to R&D (but left a re-direct behind in HR); all of your questions have to do with development and management of software more than people -- so I'm guessing (hoping) that you'll get better response in this forum...

June 15, 2004 7:17 PM

Entrepreneur -